400x560

Cernunnos Pepe.gif

๐Ÿงต Minimum skills to get hired

Anonymous No. 896474

Hello.

I'm a 3D artist, been doing commissions for over 5 years, all of them paid.

It was enough for me as a side hustle for a while, though I do want to get more serious.

Perhaps get hired as a freelancer or a contract or perhaps even permanent employment.

What do I need as a "minimum" to get hired?
Could you post portfolios as example of "good enough to hire"?

I tried researching about it online, no luck so far.

That's why I'm here.

Any help is very appreciated!

Anonymous No. 896475

Just go on artstation and search for big games and look at people who made the art. That's the level you need to be at.

Anonymous No. 896488

>>896475
But how would I know what's "entry level" and what's "seasoned veteran"?

Anonymous No. 896491

>>896474
What you don't understand is that its not about the portfolio - its about what its like working with you 40+ hours a week. You have to be a good coworker and not just some little prick who grates on everyone with some terrible attitude

Anonymous No. 896492

>>896488
There is no real distinction (besides pay) between entry level and senior anymore. No one has time to hand hold newbies in a production setting, you either hit your notes or you're out.

Anonymous No. 896498

>>896491
>You have to be a good coworker and not just some little prick who grates on everyone with some terrible attitude
Basically the reason some people on this board are jobless.

Anonymous No. 896503

>>896492
Wait, if that's the case, then how come seniors don't get fired for cheaper, entry level juniors who are more or less the same in talent output?

Anonymous No. 896507

>>896503
Because the plan is to shrink art departments to just a few slavemasters to crack the whip at outsourced labor. Juniors don't get hired, period, unless they're a discount senior (ie. great value).

Anonymous No. 896511

>>896491