Image not available

752x438

FRZHy3OX0AAorOJ.jpg

🧵 Untitled Thread

Anonymous No. 919979

>Open Blender for first time
>Completely lost in arcane and unintuitive interface (this coming from someone whose used GIMP and Solidworks)
>Google Blender tutorials
>184 video long playlist of 5 minute vids that poorly explain how to make some specific object
How am I supposed to learn this shit? I don't want to make a fucking donut, I want a simple guide on how to navigate the god-awful UI, and a concise explanation of what each tool does and what I might want to use it for. Preferably in text + pictures form, not some shitty video.

Anonymous No. 919980

>>919979
The donut tutorial is unironically good, not necessarily because of what your making but because Andrew had designed it for total beginners and he explains everything, even where to click.

Anonymous No. 919992

>>919979
Use Maya.

Anonymous No. 920006

>>919992
>The price of an annual Maya subscription is $1,785
No fucking thanks, that's like a month's pay for my broke college student self

Anonymous No. 920011

finding a good blender tutorial series is hard because of all the garbage that gets recommended. avoid blender guru at all cost. Imphenzia and ChamferZone are better IMO. also if you understand how UV's, texturing and rigging works, start using plugins asap. they are so much better than vanilla blender and save you lots of time.

Anonymous No. 920015

>>920006
>my broke college student self

Anonymous No. 920016

>>920006
You can use torrent version

Anonymous No. 920022

Start with this. https://youtu.be/jnj2BL4chaQ

Then buy his courses when they get a discount on gamedev. That's what I did and I recommend. I bought the Grant Abbit bundle. 6 courses for 50 and something bucks. I still have to finish 4 more I already learn enough to make a real size replica of my room in blender.
Don't do the donut tutorial it's shit for begginers, it has too much information and little practice.

Anonymous No. 920031