Image not available

1280x720

boy.jpg

🧵 Untitled Thread

Anonymous No. 963728

I would like to learn Blender and be able to model characters and make animations in a cell-shaded style, where do I start as a complete beginner?

Anonymous No. 963736

>>963728
the donut

Anonymous No. 963799

A common trap beginners fall into is to think that everything they need to learn has a tutorial and that they need to watch another video to progress.

But as a complete beginner what you should do is open the program and start messing with it.

Blender's UI is terrible. Barely anything is labeled. The only way to learn where things are is to mouse over pieces of the UI and wait for them to maybe show a label. Once you know where things are from experience learning becomes a little easier.

Anonymous No. 963806

>>963799
>A common trap beginners fall into is to think that everything they need to learn has a tutorial and that they need to watch another video to progress.
This.
Best bet with "tutorial aided learning" is to not follow the tutorial outright, essentially just painting by number or following a lego instruction set, but use it as a means of solving a problem in a project that doesn't have to do with the tutorial.
Say you have a tutorial that instructs you how to make a rainy city street.
Instead of following the tutorial verbatim and ending up with the same result, use the tutorial as a means of getting info on how to make rain for your own scene.
By doing this, you're not just repeating instructions given to you, but you're using that problem solving part of your brain which makes you remember things better.