Image not available

550x1144

pic not related.png

🧵 Architecture Modelling - Quick Question

Anonymous No. 971044

I'm an artist of several years who seems to have missed the memo on this, so I thought I'd ask here. Normalized measurements, such as wall heights, window heights, door heights, couch heights, table heights. Where can I find these so I can design models to accurate-to-life scale for VR experiences? Is there a diagram or cheatsheet!

Anonymous No. 971047

>>971044
You’re looking for the software called CAD, Computer-aided design.

The best ones are:

Machine = https://www.freecad.org

Houing = http://www.sweethome3d.com

Understand that none of these are easy, they aren’t Blender or Maya that have tools to make something. You use realistic tools to build real life items. Also, no Blender doesn’t offer CAD, Blender can’t do CAD and all Blender CAD plugins are scams due to the simple fact that the calculations in Blender CAD are 99% wrong.

Anonymous No. 971048

>>971047
I own Plasticity, would it be good for this?

Anonymous No. 971049

>>971044
The cheat sheet is the human body itself, we're taller than we are thick or wide, our limbs have certain proportions that dictate how the architecture we design is shaped
to accommodate us.

How much headspace do a human need to a ceiling to neither feel claustrophobic nor dwarfed? When we know we also know how exploit this to place
an individual in a desired psychological headspace traversing the environment we design.

Architects, carpenters and people who design for humans often use archaic units of measurement like handspan, cubit, arm span, pace, footspan etc to determine
the correct dimensions for the human in that environment. Penning down these units and translate them to imperial or metric can be valuable shorthand.

Also using small unit numbers with a high number of even divisors is advisable to standardize on. For example I'm European and I think in metric.