Image not available

1171x827

leg problem.png

๐Ÿงต Leg problem when symmetrizing in blender?

Anonymous No. 997305

I created an armature with IK and symmetrized it, then applied automatic weights and everything works as it should.

However, I cannot find a fix to this problem: as you can see on picrel, one of the legs (left leg) does not want to bend using IK, but rather becomes stiff, while the other leg has the exact same settings except it moves.

I have tweaked the settings such as the pole angle and chain length, but it doens't work.

One thing that's weird is that I tried enabling "Rotation" in the IK modifier, which makes it bend, but messes up with the leg by rotating it slightly in a shitty way, I don't know.

This is my first time rigging a character, so I'm a complete noob in that regard.

Anonymous No. 997307

>>997305
It's a long standing bug in Blender's IK solver. To work around it you need to make sure the rest pose is slightly pre-bent the right way.

Anonymous No. 997308

>>997307
mmm maya does this too. it uses the rest pose to determine the primary bending angle. if you rog your elbows or.knees perfectly strait its basically random what angle theyll bend in.

Image not available

378x427

shin bone orienta....png

Anonymous No. 997310

>>997305
You could have asked this in one of the other threads. But anyway, it's possibly a bone roll issue. Try rolling the stiff bone 180 degrees, relative to it's current roll.
It's probably not the pre-bent thing, because if one knee is bent enough to move, then the other knee should be too when symmetrized.
So it's most likely that when the bone got symmetrized, the IK limitation went from the proper backward orientation, to an improper forward orientation, which is conflicting with the pole, causing the whole leg to remain stiff. So a 180 degree roll around should set the IK back to it's proper orientation.

Let me know if this works.

Image not available

1205x692

ik_constraint.jpg

Anonymous No. 997311