Image not available

778x972

1729053985335832.jpg

๐Ÿงต Feeling demoralised with topology

Anonymous No. 999332

My background is in graphic design and I went to art school so I thought this would be easy. The sculpting/modelling side of the hobby I love but getting "good topology" seems impossible for me. I just dont have a mathematical mind and I'll fuck up the topology half way through and then the edge flow is fucked up and I have to start again. It ruins the spontaneity and creativity of it for me. I dont really even care about animating at this point so does it even matter?

Honeslty Ive seen people with great models and insane creativity but theres always some snide fucking asshole talking about "check the n-gons, git gud at topology kiddo". Reminds me of being into music in college and how radio stations would reject demos because the mix was slightly off. It fucking pisses me off. I'm not getting paid for this, I just wanna make 3D stuff that I like. Should I just ignore it all and do it my own way?

Anonymous No. 999333

>>999332
yeah do it your own way. otherwise you're learning how to model like someone else.

Anonymous No. 999335

>>999332
yeah, that's what i heard someone say about this
getting good at topology will require a technical mind, so people from artistic backgrounds will suffer

Anonymous No. 999336

just sculpt on top of a basemesh, topolet

Anonymous No. 999338

>>999335
is it still learnable to a creative mind? Like can I just make stuff and get feedback on the topology and just progress from there?

Anonymous No. 999344

>>999332
i just want to know how to rig hips like that.

>should I just ignore it all and do it my own way?
unironically yes.

Anonymous No. 999348

>>999332
>always some snide fucking asshole

That's just human psychology and not something you can get away from in any field. Some people are like that and best way to make peace with it