Image not available

391x524

C076B85D-6FAC-419....jpg

๐Ÿงต Untitled Thread

Anonymous No. 16186854

Would you support universities changing themselves to where the only undergraduate degrees are math, physics or chemistry? Then if you want to be an engineer you can go to a professional school like law or medicine? Seems like this change would help universities gain the respect theyve loss due to the humanities and soft sciences making college seem so easy.

Anonymous No. 16186903

>>16186854
No, this seems really stupid and myopic. Even within STEM rigorous engineering tracks cover very different material than anything you'd get in either a math or physics undergraduate curriculum.

Engineering at good schools also tend to have a very different approach to math education. When I graduated with my EE undergrad degree I was much more computationally adept and able to handle a wider variety of subjects than my math and physics counterparts (at the cost of having much less of a proof background than the math students and much less depth in the physical models we covered than the physics students).

Even getting rid of not traditionally STEM disciplines like econometrics or operations research would be depriving students of significant opportunities in very important disciplines.

Anonymous No. 16186927

>>16186854
Make it illegal to get into debt for useless degrees.

Anonymous No. 16187268

>>16186854
>Would you support universities changing themselves to where the only undergraduate degrees are math, physics or chemistry