Image not available

1034x676

remesetal2009-spi....jpg

🧵 Paleontology thread

Anonymous No. 16220066

Hey there, shall we get a paleontology Q&A thread going?
I myself am not a paleontologist yet, I'm actually about to start my masters in paleontology in the fall, but I have a degree in geology and love fossils so I think I can help with some things that might be nebulous. Obviously, I'd appreciate if paleontologists, biologists, and geologists would help in the thread as well. Thanks in advance.
I can tell there's some confusion about paleontology regarding things like how does fossilization occur, in which environments does it occur or not, how and where are fossils found, how easy or not are they to find and how you can find them too, how are fossil trackways preserved now on rock that used to be soft-sediment and where you can go see them for yourselves, how do integrative biologists attempt to reconstruct organisms and attempt to place them on evolutionary trees, how are those nice skeleton mounts assembled and how much of it fossil material or not, or even how much of it is from a single find or multiple finds, how are fossils prepared, what are microfossils, how do we use fossils to relate different rock layers to one another, how are fossils used in petroleum exploration, etc. There is so much to paleontology, it just never ends.

Here's a nice photo of the fossilized remains of a spinophorosaurus being excavated, isn't it amazing?

Anonymous No. 16220117

>>16220066
you sure do seem to like talking about yourself on social media

Anonymous No. 16220180

>>16220117
Funny, yes, but I actually do not have a single social media account anymore, I closed them all, and I dare you to do the same.

Anonymous No. 16220279

>>16220066
Can you give some general advice on how to find fossils? What tools do you need?

Anonymous No. 16220447

>>16220279