Image not available

600x360

Taekwondo-trainin....jpg

🧵 Taekwondo tournament

Anonymous No. 117719

So I have been doing taekwondo since Spring of 2021 and i'm now a blue belt entering my first tournament. I haven't been training like I should and only have a week please give me some of the best advice you can give because I want to win this tournament or come close. Also what training should I do to help?

Anonymous No. 117811

>>117719
Just spar.

Anonymous No. 117905

>>117719
IFT or WT?

1.) Distance management is possibly the most important part of striking arts. You should know EXACTLY what distance you can use what kick. Trying to use a longer range move from too close will just off-balance you and trying to use a closer range move from too far will leave you open.

2.) Do NOT exclusively dodge backwards. Side steps are your friend and prevent you from being driven to the edge/corner of the ring.

3.) I personally find it helpful to watch the opponent's lead shoulder, as almost any kick they throw will be telegraphed there. The shoulder leaning back means the front foot is coming up. The shoulder turning to open the chest means the back foot is coming around. The shoulder turning the other way means the back foot is coming around the back for a spin kick. Whatever they do, that shoulder is going to move and tell you what's coming, so long as you're fast enough to react.

Anonymous No. 117907

>>117719
practise real martial arts you fucking faggot

Anonymous No. 118126

>>117907
Second
>t. 3rd dan black belt

Anonymous No. 118214

>>117905
WT

Anonymous No. 118274

>>118214
Then my advice still stands.

Anonymous No. 118300

>>117719
Study open and mirrored stances. Practice lateral movement since if you don’t have back n forth nailed you’re fucked already.
Get your range perception nailed down on the axe kick (and the ball of foot pivot version)

Anonymous No. 118883

>>117719
Did your tournament happen yet? If so, how did it go?

Anonymous No. 118895