Image not available

252x200

Z.jpg

🧵 Boxing?

Anonymous No. 175853

I have no experience or knowledge in any kind of striking. I lift and grappled for a few years. Should I start with boxing, kickboxing, or muay thai? I'm not looking to compete either. What should I look for in a gym? Any tips or gear suggestions?

Anonymous No. 175857

>>175853
Boxing for punching and footwork. Kickboxing for punching and kicking combos. Muay Thai for range with kicking and elbows.

Anonymous No. 175858

>>175853
take cocaine and do all 3

Anonymous No. 175868

>>175853
Do whatever you want. Anyone who tells you any of those are a bad choice is a faggot who doesn’t train.

Anonymous No. 175871

Boxer whose gym closed during covid, I just got back from a trial class in a muay thai gym and am alrady mad that they tried to "correct" my superior hook techniques.

Anonymous No. 175872

>>175853
Whichever has the best coach in your area. What gym trains winners? Go there.

Anonymous No. 177119

>>175871
yeh. muay thai dogs really dont know shit about mechanics. they just want to increase their conditioning and hardening of bones and just throw shit however they want.

Anonymous No. 177139

>>175871
You know allowing kicks changes the optimal way to punch as well right lmao

Anonymous No. 177923

>>177139
So is every punch in muay thai a feint? Because the hook he wanted me to do was an arm punch that wouldn't hurt let alone knock anyone out.
I understand muay thai doesn't have nor need to have as much focus on punching as boxing since they have kicks knees and elbows, but if I go there after spending years developing a lead hook, why the hell should I go back to doing it like a begginer?
There are no cons to doing a lead hook the right way. It isn't easier to see coming, it doesn't leave you more vulnerable (on the contrary, it is tighter and safer) and it is several times more powerful.