Image not available

1093x483

Capture.png

🧵 What fighting discipline is most practical?

Anonymous No. 207778

Kind of late in the game turning 30 soon so assume it’s best to just focus on one discipline and take lessons there. For a 6’4 man who is 200lbs and decently in shape what is the most practical fighting discipline to take up for self defense? Already have ccw but just want to be capable in a bad situation now that I have wife and kids. Involved in sports in stuff but would be a total noob in a fight despite my size. Appreciate any insight

Anonymous No. 207782

I feel like just boxing is fine

Anonymous No. 207784

Judo.

If their close enough that you can't pull out a gun in time, might as well double-down and get even closer.

Anonymous No. 207791

Something you can take that family to that still has some kind of semi real sparring. Probably gonna rule out striking, but maybe you got a hard bitch. The more readily they feel comfortable in danger, the easier everything becomes.

Anonymous No. 207797

Karate but only if I teach it to you

Anonymous No. 207817

>>207778
I'm going to say that it depends where you live.

If you live in a retarded western dystopia like I do then you probably want to do wrestling or bjj because anything that even remotely looks like a strike will get you in trouble.

I went through this recently, despite video footage of a teenager literally walking right up to me and throwing a punch at me the police tried to charge ME with fighting in public because the teenager "missed" and I did a leg sweep on him.

Police are generally illogical morons and if you do ANYTHING they think they can get you for they will try. Thankfully in my case it sounds like the prosecutor told the police how retarded they were and so the cops had to phone me and "psuedo-appologise."

You're a big boy through so you should be able to get away with just pulling guard on most people and then work your way to a pin from there.

Anonymous No. 207892

>>207778