Image not available

640x430

image5-640x430.jpg

๐Ÿงต Skate rant

Anonymous No. 209121

I have a love/hate relationship with skateboarding, more emphasis on the hate.

The highs are not really that high, but the lows go so far that I can't even see the bottom. A 20 min sesh can ruin my mood for the whole day, even leading into the next day, and the next. Yet no matter how much abuse I take I always find myself crawling back to the obsession.

Ive been skating for over 3 years, and don't get me wrong, I'm pretty okay, But not nearly as good as I want to be. I can literally count all my tricks on my fingers. Really fucking sad and annoying.

I've felt my progression recede, especially in the last year since summer of 2023. I used to fly down stairsets and gaps with steez. Then one day i spent like an hour straight trying to ollie a 6 stair that had a weird landing. Never stuck the landing; kept puting my foot out to catch myself. Ever since that night, i havent been able to do a stairset bigger than a 2. That was over a year ago. I can no longer progress it seems like. I've hurt myself so much doing such basic things that my body locks up and won't let me do anything I'm uncomfortable with. I get fucktards everyday telling me to "just commit bro" well it's not the fucking simple. Easy for them to say when they haven't multiple debilitating injuries.
For reference, I've injured myself to the point where it changed the course of my entire life (having to drop out of post secondary school).

I've thought about quitting so many times. But it's impossible to escape. All my friends/hobbies/fashion/ memorabilia is directly related to skateboarding. There's that thing people say, once a skater always a skater.

I hate skateboarding, but I'm addicted and I'll never quit.

Anonymous No. 209135

>>209121
>injured during student days
>incapable of actually doing the sport any more
>unwilling to give up on the sport entirely